Jāzeps Vītols

Jāzeps Vītols Music Recordings and Sheet Music

  • Born
    26th July 1863
  • Died
    24th April 1948
  • Birthplace

Jāzeps Vītols was a Latvian composer. Vītols, the son of a schoolteacher, began his studies in composition in 1880 at the Saint Petersburg Conservatory with Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov. After graduating in 1886, he remained at the Conservatory to teach composition and reached the rank of Professor in 1901.[1] His pupils there included Nikolai Myaskovsky and Sergei Prokofiev.[1] Vītols was a close friend of fellow professors Alexander Glazunov and Anatoly Lyadov; he would regularly participate at Mitrofan Belyayev's "Weekly Fridays" — regular meetings of prominent Russian composers at Belyayev's home. At the time, Belyayev was Vītols' primary publisher. Besides academia, Vītols also spent time as a music critic for the St Petersburger Zeitung from 1897 to 1914.

Title Form Instrument Ratings
3 Etudes, Op.26 Etude Piano
Berceuse et Etude, Op.18 Etude Piano
Mazurka et Valse, Op.9 Mazurka Piano
Ouverture dramatique, Op.21 Overture Orchestra
2 Pieces, Op.23 Piano piece Piano
2 Pieces, Op.41 Piano piece Piano
3 Pieces, Op.17 Piano piece Piano
3 Pieces, Op.25 Piano piece Piano
3 Reminiscences, Op.43 Piano piece Piano
3 Silhouetten, Op.38 Piano piece Piano
4 Pieces, Op.20 Piano piece Piano
Berceuse, Op.8 Piano piece Piano
Humoresque, Op.3 Piece Piano
Recit, Op.14 Piece Chamber group
2 Preludes, Op.19 Prelude Piano
3 Preludes, Op.10 Prelude Piano
3 Preludes, Op.13 Prelude Piano
3 Preludes, Op.16 Prelude Piano
3 Preludes, Op.30 Prelude Piano
String Quartet, Op.27 Quartet String Quartet