Carl Maria von Weber

Carl Maria von Weber Music Recordings

  • Born
    19th November 1786
  • Died
    5th June 1826
  • Birthplace
    Eutin, Holstein, Germany

Carl Maria Friedrich Ernst von Weber was a German composer, conductor, pianist, guitarist and critic, one of the first significant composers of the Romantic school. Weber's operas Der Freischütz, Euryanthe and Oberon greatly influenced the development of the Romantic opera in Germany. His compositions for the clarinet, which include two concertos, a concertino, a quintet and a duo concertante, are regularly performed today. His piano music—including four sonatas, two concertos and the Konzertstück (Concert Piece) in F minor—influenced composers such as Frédéric Chopin, Franz Liszt and Felix Mendelssohn. The Konzertstück provided a new model for the one-movement concerto in several contrasting sections (such as Liszt's, who often played the work), and was acknowledged by Igor Stravinsky as the model for his Capriccio for Piano and Orchestra.

Title Form Instrument Ratings
Clarinet Concertino in E flat major, Op. 26 Concerto Clarinet
Clarinet Concerto no. 1 in F minor, Op. 73 Concerto Clarinet
Clarinet Concerto no. 2 in E flat major, Op. 74 Concerto Solo Instrument(s) and Orchestra
Invitation to the Dance, Op. 65 (Invitation to the Waltz) Dance Orchestra
Grand duo concertant, Op. 48 Duet Clarinet
Der Freischütz, Op. 77 Opera / Operetta Orchestra
Euryanthe, Op. 81 Opera / Operetta Voice(s) and Orchestra
Oberon (or The Elf King's Oath), J. 306 Opera / Operetta Voice(s) and Orchestra
Rondo Brillante, Op. 62 Rondo Piano
Symphony no. 2 in C major, J. 51 Symphony Orchestra
Preciosa, Op. 78 Theatrical / Incidental Voice(s) and Orchestra