Sylvius Leopold Weiss

Sylvius Leopold Weiss Ноти

Sylvius Leopold Weiss was a German composer and lutenist. Born in Grottkau near Breslau, the son of Johann Jacob Weiss, also a lutenist, he served at courts in Breslau, Rome, and Dresden, where he died. Until recently, he was thought to have been born in 1686, but recent evidence suggests that he was in fact born the following year. Weiss was one of the most important and most prolific composers of lute music in history and one of the best-known and most technically accomplished lutenists of his day. He wrote around 600 pieces for lute, most of them grouped into 'sonatas' (not to be confused with the later classical sonata, based on sonata form) or suites, which consist mostly of baroque dance pieces. Weiss also wrote chamber pieces and concertos, but only the solo parts have survived for most of them.

  • Дата народження: 12th Жовтень 1687
  • Дата смерті: 16th Жовтень 1750
  • Місце народження: Grottkau near Breslau, Germany

Перегляд музики за інструментами

Перегляд музики за формами

Browse Weiss's music by periods