Madrigal Music Recordings

The madrigal is a form of secular vocal music, that arose in Italy during the early 16th century. It differed from most of the strophic musical forms of the time in that it was fully written out, with the composer attempting to convey the emotions contained in each line of poem though the use of musical resources. Madrigals are traditionally written for three to eight voices, and initially they were without accompaniment. Claudio Monteverdi wrote nine books of madrigals which not only define the form, but also experiment with it: he wrote madrigals with solo parts for voice, accompanied by continuo, including recitative passages and foreshadowing the eventual absorption of the solo madrigal into the aria. During the early 1600's, the madrigal ceased to be a purely a capella composition. Composers included instrumental lines, continuo accompaniment, and a progressive exaltation of the importance of the soprano and bass lines, which was in line with the rise of functional tonality.

Title Composer Instrument Period Ratings
Amor mi sprona Alfonso Ferrabosco Sr. Solo voice(s) Renaissance
Lamento della ninfa, SV 163 Claudio Monteverdi Voice(s) and Piano Baroque
Libere e lievi Bruno Bettinelli Solo voice(s) 20th Century
My Bonny Lass She Smileth Thomas Morley Solo voice(s) Renaissance
O primavera, gioventú dell’anno, SV 68 Claudio Monteverdi Voice(s) and Instruments Renaissance
Solo e pensoso Luca Marenzio Solo voice(s) Renaissance
Susanne un jour Orlande de Lassus Solo voice(s) Renaissance
Tirsi e Clori, SV 145 Claudio Monteverdi Voice(s) and Instruments Renaissance