Léo Delibes

Léo Delibes Music Recordings

  • Born
    21st February 1836
  • Died
    16th January 1891
  • Birthplace
    Saint-Germain-du-Val, now part of La Flèche (Sarthe), France

Clément Philibert Léo Delibes was a French composer of ballets, operas, and other works for the stage. His most notable works include ballets Coppélia (1870) and Sylvia (1876) as well as the operas Le roi l'a dit (1873) and Lakmé (1883). Some musicologists believe that the ballet in Gounod's Faust was actually composed by Delibes. He died in Paris from natural causes on 16 January 1891, at the age of 54. He was buried in the Cimetière de Montmartre in Paris.

Title Form Instrument Ratings
'Pizzicato' from Sylvia, piano arr. Ballet Piano
Lakme - Flower Duet Duet Voice(s) and Orchestra
Sylvia Opera / Operetta Orchestra
Lakme - Flower Duet (String Quartet arr.) Quartet String Quartet