Joseph-Hector Fiocco

Joseph-Hector Fiocco Music Recordings

  • Born
    20th January 1703
  • Died
    21st June 1741
  • Birthplace
    Brussels, Belgium

Joseph-Hector Fiocco was a Belgian composer and violinist of the high and late Baroque period. His father, the Italian composer Pietro Antonio Fiocco, and one his older brothers (he had 15 siblings, including the composer and choirmaster Jean-Joseph) were responsible for his musical education. He was also a professor of Greek and Latin. He worked as a musician in the cathedral at Antwerp, where he was in charge of the music for the services. In 1737 he returned to Brussels and worked in the Church of St. Gudule. He died in Brussels at age 38. Some of his most famous works are Lamentations Du Jeudi Saint, a Missa solemnis and Pièces de Clavecin. His two suites for harpsichord were dedicated to the Duke of Arenberg, and they incorporate French and Italian styles. The first suite begins in the style of Couperin and ends with four Italian-style movements: adagio, allegro, andante and vivace. He is also known to Suzuki violin students for hisAllegro, which is part of the Book 6 Suzuki violin repertoire. This piece has also been arranged for string quartet, and is often played at weddings. He wrote many religious vocal works, including motets and masses.

Filter Hide
Instruments Harpsichord
Forms Piano piece