Claudio Monteverdi

Claudio Monteverdi Music Recordings

  • Born
    15th May 1567
  • Died
    29th November 1643
  • Birthplace
    Cremona, Italy

Claudio Monteverdi was an Italian composer, gambist, and singer. Monteverdi's work, often regarded as revolutionary, marked the transition from the Renaissance style of music to that of the Baroque period. He developed two individual styles of composition – the heritage of Renaissance polyphony and the new basso continuo technique of the Baroque. Monteverdi wrote one of the earliest operas, L'Orfeo, an innovative work that is still regularly performed. He was recognized as an innovative composer and enjoyed considerable fame in his lifetime.

Title Form Instrument Ratings
L'Incoronazione di Poppea, SV 308 Aria / Arietta Voice(s) and Orchestra
'Signor, quell'infelice' from L'Orfeo, SV 318 Aria / Arietta Voice(s) and Instruments
Lamento della ninfa, SV 163 Madrigal Voice(s) and Piano
O primavera, gioventú dell’anno, SV 68 Madrigal Voice(s) and Instruments
Tirsi e Clori, SV 145 Madrigal Voice(s) and Instruments