César Franck

César Franck Music Recordings

  • Born
    10th December 1822
  • Died
    8th November 1890
  • Birthplace
    Liège, Belgium

César-Auguste-Jean-Guillaume-Hubert Franck was a composer, pianist, organist, and music teacher who worked in Paris during his adult life. He was born in Liège, where he gave his first concerts in 1834. He studied privately in Paris from 1835, where his teachers included Anton Reicha. After a brief return to Belgium, and a disastrous reception to an early oratorio Ruth, he moved to Paris, where he married and embarked on a career as teacher and organist. He gained a reputation as a formidable improviser, and travelled widely in France to demonstrate new instruments built by Aristide Cavaillé-Coll. In 1858 he became organist at Sainte-Clotilde, a position he retained for the rest of his life. He became professor at the Paris Conservatoire in 1872; he took French nationality, a requirement of the appointment. His pupils included Vincent d'Indy, Ernest Chausson, Louis Vierne, and Henri Duparc. In the 1870s Franck took up composition again, and subsequently wrote several works that have entered the standard classical repertoire, including symphonic, chamber, and keyboard works.

Title Form Instrument Ratings
3 Chorals for Organ Chorale Organ
Fantaisie, Op. 16 Fantasy Organ
Prélude, Choral et Fugue Piano piece Piano
L'Organiste Piece Organ
Pièces posthumes Piece Organ
Prélude, Fugue and Variation, Op. 18 Prelude (or other movement) and Fugue Organ
Piano Quintet Quintet Chamber group
Mass, Op. 12 Sacred Mass Voice(s) and Instruments
Violin Sonata in A Sonata Violin
Violin Sonata in A, Cello arr. Sonata Solo Instrument and Piano
Symphony in D minor Symphony Orchestra
Symphony in Dm Symphony Orchestra
Variations symphoniques Theme and Variations Piano and orchestra