'Chopin', no. 12 from Carnaval, Op. 9

Carnaval, Op. 9  is a work for piano solo by Schumman, written in 1834-5 and subtitled Scènes mignonnes sur quatre notes (Little Scenes on Four Notes). It consists of a collection of short pieces represented masked revelers at Carnival, in which Schumman gves musical expression to himself, his friends, and characters from comedia dell'arte. and characters from improvised Italian comedy (commedia dell’arte). The 21 pieces are connected by a recurring motif. Apparently inspired by a set of variations that a fellow composer was doing on the name of Schubert, Carnaval ... more

About this Piece


Music recordings

RecordingCarnaval Op. 9, no. 12, - 'Chopin'



There are no questions yet.