Dvořák Symphony no. 7, Op. 70

Antonín Dvořák composed his Symphony no. 7 in D minor, Op. 70 (also B. 141) between 1884 and 1885. It was first performed in 1885 at St. James' Hall in London. Apparently, Dvořák's was inspired to work on the symphony after hearing Brahms' new 3rd Symphony. The publication process of the Symphony no. 7 (that initially appeared in print as Symphony no. 2) was complicated at the very least: Fritz Simrock would not publish it until a piano duet arrangement was available, then refuse to print Dvořák's Czech name (Antonín), instead insisting that he used the name Anton. He also wanted to have the title page in German only, and to omit the deication to the London Philharmonic Society. Finally, he put up an argument when Dvorak asked him for an advance, and it was ponly after a long discussion that the composer was able to get the 6000 marks advance he wanted. The symphony itself is a work in 4 movements, approximately 40 minutes in lenght, and scored for 2 flutes (2nd doubling piccolo in the 3rd movement), 2 oboes, 2 clarinets (in A and B♭), 2 bassoons, 4 horns (in D and F), 2 trumpets (in C, D, and F), 3 trombones, timpani and strings.


Symphony no. 7, Op. 70 - III. Scherzo: Vivace
Symphony no. 7, Op. 70 - IV. Finale: Allegro
Symphony no. 7, Op. 70 - I. Allegro maestoso
Symphony no. 7, Op. 70 - II. Poco adagio