Johann Friedrich Fasch

Johann Friedrich Fasch Ноти

  • Дата народження: 15th Квітень 1688
  • Дата смерті: 5th Грудень 1758
  • Місце народження: Buttelstedt, Germany

Johann Friedrich Fasch was a German violinist and composer. His works include cantatas, concertos, symphonies, and chamber music. None of his music was published in his lifetime, and it appears that most of his vocal works (including 9 complete cantata cycles, at least 14 masses and four operas) are lost, while his instrumental works are mostly extant." However, his music was performed in his day, and was held in high regard by contemporaries. Georg Philipp Telemann performed a cycle of his cantatas in 1733 in Hamburg; an organ work once attributed to Johann Sebastian Bach (BWV 585) is known to be an arrangement from a Fasch trio sonata; and Bach's Collegium Musicum a different group than the one founded by Fasch) performed some of Fasch's Suites (ten of them, according to Hugo Reimann. Only one of these suites survived World War II; it is in the hand of Bach's student Carl Gotthelf Gerlach.