Gherardello Da Firenze Ноти

  • Дата народження:прибл. 1320
  • Дата смерті:прибл. 1362
  • Місце народження: Florence?, Italy

Gherardello da Firenze (also Niccolò di Francesco or Ghirardellus de Florentia) was an Italian composer of the Trecento. He was one of the first composers of the period sometimes known as the Italian ars nova. Although Gherardello was renowned during his time for his sacred music, little of it has survived. A Gloria and an Agnus Dei, both by Gherardello, are among just a handful of mass movements by Italian composers from before 1400. The style of Gherardello's mass movements is similar to that of the madrigal, although more restrained emotionally: they are for two voices, which sing together most of the time, with occasional passages where they sing in alternation. Gherardello's secular music has survived in greater abundance. Ten madrigals, all for two voices; five ballatas, all for a single voice; and a very famous caccia, Tosto che l'alba, which is for three voices, survive. Stylistically his music is typical of the early Trecento, with the voices usually singing the same words at the same time, except for the caccia, in which the upper two voices sing a quickly moving canon, and the lowest voice sings a freely composed part in longer notes. Most of Gherardello's music has been preserved in the 15th century Squarcialupi Codex, although several other manuscripts, all from Tuscany, contain works of his. A portrait on the pages of the Codex devoted to his music is most likely him (each composer in that illuminated manuscript is pictured).

Перегляд музики за формами

Перегляд музики за інструментами

Перегляд музики за періодами