Auguste Franchomme

Auguste Franchomme Sheet Music

  • Born
    10th April 1808
  • Died
    21st January 1884
  • Birthplace
    Lille, France

Auguste Franchomme was a French cellist and composer. For his contributions to music, he was decorated with the Légion d'honneur in 1884 He began his career playing with various orchestras and was appointed solo cello at the Sainte-Chapelle in 1828. Along with the violinist Jean-Delphin Alard, teacher of Pablo de Sarasate, and the pianist Charles Hallé, creator of the Hallé Orchestra, he was a founder and member of the Alard Quartet. The Quartet was rare for a chamber ensemble of its time because it consisted of professional musicians. Franchomme also belonged to the founding ranks of the Société des Concerts du Conservatoire. Franchomme forged close friendships with Felix Mendelssohn, when the latter visited Paris in 1831, and with Frédéric Chopin. In 1833, Chopin and Franchomme collaborated to write a Grand Duo concertant for piano and cello, based on themes from Giacomo Meyerbeer's opera Robert le diable. Franchomme also rewrote the cello parts for Chopin's Polonaise Brillante, Op. 3, and was the dedicatee of Chopin's Cello Sonata, Op. 65. Franchomme was also the dedicatee of the cello sonata of Charles-Valentin Alkan.

Title Form Instrument
3 Caprices, Op.24 Caprice Solo Instrument and Piano
12 Caprices for Cello, Op.7 Caprice Cello
Cello Concerto No.1, Op.33 Concerto Solo Instrument(s) and Orchestra
12 Etudes for Cello, Op.35 Etude Chamber group
Fantaisie sur 'La flûte enchantée' de Mozart, Op.40 Fantasy Solo Instrument and Piano
3 Nocturnes, Op.14 Nocturne Solo Instrument and Piano
Romance, Op.10 Romance Chamber group
Sérénade, Op.12 Serenade / Divertimento / Cassation Solo Instrument and Piano