Double concerto in Am, Op. 102

  The Double Concerto in A minor was Brahms' final work for orchestra, written and premiered in 1887. Brahms approached the project with anxiety over writing for instruments that were not his own. He wrote it for the cellist Robert Hausmann, a frequent collaborator, and his old but estranged friend, violinist Joseph Joachim, mainly as a gesture of reconciliation. The concerto uses the motif A-E-F (permutation of F-A-E, personal motto of Joachim). Thirty-four years earlier, Brahms had been involved in a collaborative work using the F-A-E motif in tribute to Joachim. The reaction ... more

This sheet contains the following parts:

Sheet Title View score Download
Double Concerto in A Minor, Op. 102 - I. Allegro
Double Concerto in A Minor, Op. 102 - II. Andante
Double Concerto in A Minor, Op. 102 - III. Vivace non troppo

Johannes Brahms

Johannes Brahms was a German composer and pianist, and one of the leading musicians of the Romantic period. Born in Hamburg, Brahms ...