Années de pèlerinage, Première année: Suisse, S. 160

Années de pèlerinage (Years of Pilgrimage) is a set of three suites for solo piano by Liszt. It is widely considered a masterwork and summation of Liszt's musical style. The title refers to Goethe's famous novel of self-realization, Wilhelm Meister's Apprenticeship. Liszt clearly places the work in line with the Romantic literature of his time, prefacing most pieces with a literary passage from writers such as Schiller, Byron or Senancour.  Première année: Suisse" ("First Year: Switzerland"), S.160, was published in 1855. Composed between 1848 and 1854, most of ... more

This sheet contains the following parts:

Sheet Title View score Download
Complete Score
Part I (S.160/1-5)
Part II (S.160/6-End)
Composer Form Instrument Period
Franz Liszt Piano piece Piano Romantic

Franz Liszt

Franz Liszt was a 19th-century Hungarian composer, pianist, conductor, and teacher. Liszt became renowned throughout Europe during the nineteenth century for his ...