String Quartets, Hob. III:75-80

The six String Quartets by Joseph Haydn were composed in 1796 and dedicated to the Hungarian count Joseph Georg von Erdödy. They form the last complete set of string quartets that Haydn composed. At the time of the commission, Haydn was employed at the court of Prince Nicolaus Esterházy II and was composing the oratorio The Creation as well as Princess Maria Hermenegild Esterházy's annual mass. The quartets were not published until 1799. Correspondence between Haydn and his Viennese publishers Artaria reveal confusion as regards their release: Haydn had promised Messrs ... more

This sheet contains the following parts:

Sheet Title View score Download
1. Quartet in G major, Hob.III:75
2. Quartet in D minor 'Fifths', Hob.III:76
3. Quartet in C major 'Emperor', Hob.III:77
4. Quartet in B♭ major 'Sunrise', Hob.III:78
5. Quartet in D major, Hob.III:79 (page 216 missing!)
6. Quartet in E♭ major, Hob.III:80

Franz Joseph Haydn

Franz Joseph Haydn, known as Joseph Haydn, was an Austrian composer, one of the most prolific and prominent composers of the Classical ...