String Quartets, Op. 54

This set of string quartets, catalogued as Op. 54, was written by Joseph Haydn around 1788, and dedicated to Johann Tost. It comprises three pieces, (Hob. III 58, 57, and 59) in the keys of G, C, and E major respectively. They are transitional, quasi experimental pieces, stemming from a period when Haydn was experimenting with the quartet form.

This sheet contains the following parts:

Sheet Title View score Download
I. Quartet in G Major, Hob. III 58
II. Quartet in C Major, Hob. III 57
III. Quartet in E Major, Hob. III 59

Franz Joseph Haydn

Franz Joseph Haydn, known as Joseph Haydn, was an Austrian composer, one of the most prolific and prominent composers of the Classical ...