Introduction and Allegro, Op. 47

Edward Elgar wrote his Introduction and Allegro for Strings, Op. 47, in 1905, to be playued by the recently created London Symphony Orchestra. The piece, which demands considerable technique from the players, is actually scored for string quartet and string orchestra, relying on some compositional elements of the concerto grosso style. It lasts around fifteen minutes, and it is dedicated to Samuel Stanford.

This sheet contains the following parts:

Sheet Title Download
Introduction and Allegro, Op. 47 - Complete score

Edward Elgar

Sir Edward William Elgar was an English composer, many of whose works have entered the British and international classical concert repertoire. Among ...