12 Pieces, Op. 40

Tchaikovsky finished writing his 12 pieces for piano in 1878, and published them the following year in Moscow via P. Jurgenson. Though the autographed work has no dedication, the published edition was dedicated to the composer's brother. Save for a two numbers, the majority of the collection was written in 1878, making it contemporary with his Violin Concerto. In a letter to his patroness Tchaikovsky said that he wished to write a new piece each morning.

This sheet contains the following parts:

Sheet Title View score Download
12 Pieces, Op.40 - Complete Score
Complete Score
Complete Score
Complete Score

Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky

Pyotr Il'yich Tchaikovsky was a Russian composer of the Romantic era. His wide-ranging output includes symphonies, operas, ballets, instrumental, chamber music and ...