Gaspard de la nuit

Gaspard de la nuit: Trois poèmes pour piano d'après Aloysius Bertrand is a suite of piano pieces by Ravel, written in 1908. It has 3 movements, each based on a poem by Aloysius Bertrand. It premiered in 1909. The work is famous for its difficulty, and Scarbo is considered one of the most difficult solo piano pieces ever written. The name Gaspard derives from Persian, meaning 'the one in charge of royal treasures': 'Gaspard of the night' thus creating alussions to someone in charge of something mysterious. 

This sheet contains the following parts:

Sheet Title View score Download
Complete Score (scan)
Complete Score (filter)
Complete score (medium quality)
Complete score (with poems)
Complete score
Preface Poems to each Piece

Maurice Ravel

Joseph-Maurice Ravel was a French composer known especially for his melodies, orchestral and instrumental textures and effects. Much of his piano music, ...