Daphnis et Chloé

Maurice Ravel wrote his ballet music for Daphnis et Chloe in 1909 after a commission from Sergei Diaghilev. It was premiered in 1912 to great success, and Ravel proceeded to extract two suites from the original score, of which the second one is particularly famous. The work, which is an hour long and set in three scenes, is based on an adaptation by Michel Fokine from an eponymous romance by Longus, thought to date from around the 2nd century AD.

This sheet contains the following parts:

Sheet Title Download
Daphnis et Chloé - Complete score

Maurice Ravel

Joseph-Maurice Ravel was a French composer known especially for his melodies, orchestral and instrumental textures and effects. Much of his piano music, ...