The damnation of Faust, Op. 24

The damnation of Faust (La damnation de Faust) Op. 24 is a work for solo voices, full seven-part chorus, large children's chorus and orchestra by the French composer Hector Berlioz. Like the literary masterpiece it draws inspiration for, it defies categorization. It is based on Goethe's dramatic poem Faust and, conceived at times as an opera and at times as an oratiorio, the composer himself settled for calling it a ''légende dramatique" (dramatic legend). It was first performed at the Opéra-Comique in Paris on 6 December 1846.

This sheet contains the following parts:

Sheet Title View score Download
La damnation de Faust, H 111 - Complete Score
La damnation de Faust, H 111 - Serenade_of_Mephistopheles
La damnation de Faust, H 111 - Tanz der Irrlichter, Solo Piano Transcription

Hector Berlioz

Hector Berlioz (11 December 1803 – 8 March 1869) was a French Romantic composer, best known for his compositions Symphonie fantastique and ...