Prélude, Choral et Fugue

Prélude, Choral et Fugue, Op. 21 is a work for solo piano written in 1884 by César Franck. This work is an exemplar of Franck's distinctive use of cyclic form. It comprises three movements: a prelude, a chorale and a fugue. This piece uses a Chromatic fourth motif in the Chorale and the Fugue. The Prelude starts in B minor. The Fugue returns to B minor, but ends in B major.

This sheet contains the following parts:

Sheet Title View score Download
Prélude, Choral et Fugue - Complete Score (Litolff, n.d.(ca.1868)
Prélude, Choral et Fugue - I. Prélude (The University Society, 1916)
Prélude, Choral et Fugue - II. Choral (The University Society, 1916)
Prélude, Choral et Fugue - III. Fugue (The University Society, 1916)
Composer Form Instrument Period
César Franck Piano piece Piano Romantic

César Franck

César-Auguste-Jean-Guillaume-Hubert Franck was a composer, pianist, organist, and music teacher who worked in Paris during his adult life. He was born in ...