String Quartets, Hob. III:75-80

These six string quartets were written by Haydn in 1796-7, while he was at the court of Prince Nicolaus Esterhazy II, and they were dedicated to Count Joseph Georg von Erdödy. They are the last set that Haydn wrote, and, notably, they were conceived in parallel with The Creation. They are also among the most ambitious chamber works he wrote, systematically deviating from the lines of the sonata form. They were published as Op. 76, but nowadays they are also named with their Hob. catalogue numbers: 75-80.

This sheet contains the following parts:

Sheet Title View score Download
1. Quartet in G major, Hob.III:75
2. Quartet in D minor 'Fifths', Hob.III:76
3. Quartet in C major 'Emperor', Hob.III:77
4. Quartet in B♭ major 'Sunrise', Hob.III:78
5. Quartet in D major, Hob.III:79 (page 216 missing!)
6. Quartet in E♭ major, Hob.III:80

Franz Joseph Haydn

Franz Joseph Haydn, known as Joseph Haydn, was an Austrian composer, one of the most prolific and prominent composers of the Classical ...