The Musical Offering, BWV. 1079

The Musical Offering (Das Musikalische Opfer), BWV. 1079, is a collection of canons and fugues and other pieces by J.S. Bach, all based on a single musical theme given to him by Frederick II of Prussia, to whom they are dedicated. The instrumentation is still a matter of debate, some scholars stating that, apart from the trio sonata, the rest of the pieces are meant for solo keyboard. Numerous instrumentations have been put forward, sometimes by famous composers. Some of the canons provided in the work are presented as a single ... more

This sheet contains the following parts:

Sheet Title Download
Complete score

Johann Sebastian Bach

Johann Sebastian Bach was a German composer, organist, harpsichordist, violist, and violinist whose sacred and secular works for choir, orchestra, and solo ...