The Art of Fugue, BWV. 1080

The Art of Fugue (Die Kunst der Fuge) is an incomplete work of unspecified instrumentation by J.S. Bach, written in the last decade of his life, and acting as a culmination of his experimentation with monothematic instrumental works. It consists of fugues and 4 canons, all variating a single principal subject, and ordered by increasing complexity. The order of the component pieces has been debated, as there are differences between the extant manuscript and the printed editions that appeared inmediately after Bach's death. Musical reasons have been invoked to propose ... more

This sheet contains the following parts:

Sheet Title View score Download
Complete score
Art of the Fugue, BWV 1080 -Transcription for organ

Johann Sebastian Bach

Johann Sebastian Bach was a German composer, organist, harpsichordist, violist, and violinist whose sacred and secular works for choir, orchestra, and solo ...