String Quartet no. 21 in D 'The Violet', K. 575

The String Quartet No. 21 in D Major, K. 575, was written in June 1789 by Mozart. It has acquired the nickname The Violet. The first of the so called 'Prussian Quartet's, it was written for and dedicated to the King of Prussia, Friedrich Wilhelm II, an amateur cellist, and was written in a similar style to the quartets of Joseph Haydn. Mozart and his friend Karl Lichnowsky met the king in Potsdam in April 1789. Mozart played before the king in Berlin on 26 May 1789. This string quartet, though ... more

This sheet contains the following parts:

Sheet Title Download
Complete score

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (baptised Johannes Chrysostomus Wolfgangus Theophilus Mozart) was an influential composer of the Classical era, who showed prodigious ability from ...