String Quartet no. 12 in Bb, K. 172

The String Quartet in B flat major (K. 172) is one of a series of six quartets Mozart composed in the late summer and early fall of 1773, probably in Vienna, a few months after returning from a tour of Italy. While the set of quartets composed near the end of his travels (K. 155-160) clearly exhibited the young composer's absorption of the musical styles and forms encountered during his Italian tour, the set of "Viennese" quartets in which K. 172 appears (K. 168-173) betrays the recent influence of Haydn's ... more

This sheet contains the following parts:

Sheet Title Download
Complete Score

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, baptised as Johannes Chrysostomus Wolfgangus Theophilus Mozart, was a prolific and influential composer of the Classical era. Mozart showed ...