String Quartet no. 10 in Eb 'The Harp', Op. 74

Beethoven's Quartet no. 10 in E♭ major, nicknamed The Harp, was published in 1809. The nickname refers to the pizzicato sections in the first movement, where pairs of members of the quartet alternate arpeggio notes, reminiscent of the plucking of a harp. Like most nicknames for Beethoven's works, this was created by the publisher. The Harp Quartet parallels many facets of the 5th Symphony: the geroic quality pervading Beethoven's Middle Period is heard extensively in the first movement. 

This sheet contains the following parts:

Sheet Title Download
Complete Score

Ludwig van Beethoven

Ludwig van Beethoven was a German composer and pianist. The crucial figure in the transition between the Classical and Romantic eras in ...