The Ruins of Athens, Op. 113

Ludwig van Beethoven wrote The Ruins of Athens (Die Ruinen von Athen), Op. 113, in 1811. It is a set of incidental pieces, meant to accompany the play of the same name by August von Kotzebue. Eventually a second overture, called The Consacration of the House, was written in 1822, to be performed on the ocassion of the reopening of Vienna's Theater. The best known music from The Ruins of Athens is possibly its Turkish March, which is often performed as a separate piece (Beethoven even published a set of variations ... more

This sheet contains the following parts:

Sheet Title Download
The Ruins of Athens, Op. 113 - Complete Score

Ludwig van Beethoven

Ludwig van Beethoven was a German composer and pianist. The crucial figure in the transition between the Classical and Romantic eras in ...