Ma Vlast - Vltava (The Moldau)

Má vlast (my homeland) is a set of six symphonic poems composed by Smetana, later presented as a single work in 1882 in Prague. The author combined the ideals of nationalistic music with the Symphonic Poem form coined by Listz, resulting in a very idiosincratic music. Each poem of Má vlast depicts an aspect of the culture of Bohemia. This particular piece, Vltava (or Die Moldau as it is known in German) was composed in 1874 and premiered by Adolf Čech the following year. In its twelve minutes of duration, Smetana resorts ... more

This sheet contains the following parts:

Sheet Title View score Download
Ma Vlast - Vltava (The Moldau) - Complete Score
Ma Vlast - Vltava (The Moldau) - Complete Score

Bedřich Smetana

Bedrich Smetana was a Czech composer who pioneered the development of a musical style which became closely identified with his country's aspirations ...