Piano Trio in Bb 'Archduke', Op. 97

The Piano Trio in Bb major, Op. 97 is a work for piano, violin, and cello, finished in 1811. Commonly referred to as the Archduke Trio -because of its dedication to Archduke Rudolph of Austria, an amateur pianist, friend and student of Beethoven- this work was written late in the so called 'middle-period'. The first public performance was given by Beethoven himself, Ignaz Schuppanzigh and Josef Linke in 1814, as his deafness continued to encroach upon his ability as a performer. Louis Spohr wrote: "In forte passages the poor deaf man pounded ... more

This sheet contains the following parts:

Sheet Title Download
Complete Score

Ludwig van Beethoven

Ludwig van Beethoven was a German composer and pianist. The crucial figure in the transition between the Classical and Romantic eras in ...