Symphony no. 40 in G minor, K. 550

Composed in 1778, the Symphony no. 40, KV. 550, is sometimes referred to as the "Great G minor symphony," to distinguish it from Symphony no. 25, the two being the only extant minor key symphonies Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart ever wrote. Scholars have often suggested that Mozart never heard his 40th symphony performed, some going as far as suggesting that the work was written for posterity. However, a recently discovered letter supplies evidence for at least one performance of the work with Mozart present. Most important is the fact that Mozart revised his ... more

This sheet contains the following parts:

Sheet Title View score Download
Symphony no. 40 in G minor, K. 550 - Complete Score
Symphony no. 40 in G minor, K. 550 - Complete parts

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, baptised as Johannes Chrysostomus Wolfgangus Theophilus Mozart, was a prolific and influential composer of the Classical era. Mozart showed ...