Fantasiestücke, Op. 12

Schumann's Fantasiestücke, Op. 12, is a set of eight pieces for piano, written in 1837. The title was inspired by the collection of novellas Fantasiestücke in Callots Manier by E. T. A. Hoffmann. Schumann dedicated the pieces to Fräulein Anna Robena Laidlaw (1819–1901), an accomplished and attractive 18-year old Scottish pianist with whom Schumann had carried on a brief flirtation. Schumann composed the pieces with the characters Florestan and Eusebius in mind, representing the duality of his personality. Eusebius depicts the dreamer in Schumann while Florestan represents his passionate side ... more

This sheet contains the following parts:

Sheet Title View score Download
Fantasiestucke, Op.12 - Complete Score of all Pieces
Complete Score
Composer Form Instrument Period
Robert Schumann Suite Piano Romantic

Robert Schumann

Robert Schumann was a German composer, aesthete and influential music critic. He is regarded as one of the greatest and most representative ...