Tragic Overture, Op. 81

The Tragic Overture, Op. 81, is a concert overture for orchestra written by Johannes Brahms in 1880 and premiered the same year. In essence a free-standing symphonic movement, it acts as a contrasting pair to the Academic Festival Overture. Despite its name, the Tragic Overture does not follow any specific dramatic program, as Brahms was not very interested in musical storytelling and was more concerned with conveying and eliciting emotional impressions.The work is scored for piccolo, two flutes, two oboes, two clarinets, two bassoons, four horns, two trumpets, three trombones, tuba ... more

This sheet contains the following parts:

Sheet Title View score Download
Tragic Overture, Op.81 - Complete Score 1
Tragic Overture, Op.81 - Complete Score 2
Tragic Overture, Op.81 - Piano 4 Hands Transcription
Tragic Overture, Op.81 - Violoncello Part
Composer Form Instrument Period
Johannes Brahms Overture Orchestra Romantic

Johannes Brahms

Johannes Brahms was a German composer and pianist, and one of the leading musicians of the Romantic period. Born in Hamburg, Brahms ...