String Quartet no.2, Op. 51 no.2

Johannes Brahms completed his Quartet no. 1 in C minor in 1873, and published it toghether with his second quartet as Op. 51. Brahms regarded the string quartet, toghether with the symphony, as a very important genre (with Beethoven's works in the field considered definitive and exerting a paralyzing influence over him). He reportedly destroyed some twenty string quartets before allowing the two Op. 51 quartets to be published. He wrote the pieces slowly, with many practice runs and at least one secret performance held, after which Brahms re-wrote parts of ... more

This sheet contains the following parts:

Sheet Title View score Download
String Quartet no.2, Op. 51 no.2 - Complete Score 2
String Quartet no.2, Op. 51 no.2 - Complete Score (Solo piano arr.)

Johannes Brahms

Johannes Brahms was a German composer and pianist, and one of the leading musicians of the Romantic period. Born in Hamburg, Brahms ...