The Four Seasons, Op. 8

Antonio Vivaldi composed The Four Seasons ('Le quattro stagioni' in its original Italian) in 1723. It is a set of 4 violin concertos that propose an early form of descriptive music: for example, Winter makes prominent use of pizzicato notes in high registers, whereas Summer evokes a storm in its final movement. The work was first presented as part of Op. 8, being later catalogued as RV 269, 315, 293 & 297. The Four Seasons remain very popular to this day, some of its concertos spawning a great number of derivative works, whereas ... more

This sheet contains the following parts:

Sheet Title View score Download
Violin Concerto in E major, RV 269 - 'La primavera' (Spring)
Violin Concerto in G minor, RV 315 - 'L'estate' (Summer)
Violin Concerto in F major, RV 293 - 'L'autunno' (Autumn)
Violin Concerto in F minor, RV 297 - 'L'inverno' (Winter)

Antonio Vivaldi

Antonio Lucio Vivaldi (nicknamed "The Red Priest" because of his red hair) was an Italian Baroque composer, priest, and virtuoso violinist, born ...