The Demon

The Demon (Демон) is an 1871 opera in three acts (six scenes) by Rubinstein on a libretto by Pavel Viskovatov, based on the poem of the same name by Mikhail Lermontov. The same had been banned as sacrilegious until 1860, and its popularity and lurid story made it excellent material for a libretto. The opera premiered in St. Petersburg in 1875, under Eduard Nápravník, withstage design was by Mikhayil Bocharov, Matvey Shishkov, and Lagorio. It was published the following year. Rubinstein invited several musicians of the group known as The Five, including ... more

This sheet contains the following parts:

Sheet Title View score Download
The Demon - Preliminaries and Prologue
The Demon - Act I
The Demon - Act II
The Demon - Act III
The Demon - Epilogue, contents, and colophon

Anton Rubinstein

Anton Grigorevich Rubinstein was a Russian-Jewish pianist, composer and conductor. As a pianist he was regarded as a rival of Franz Liszt, ...