3 Pieces, Op. 2

Three Pieces, Op. 2, is a set of piano solo pieces composed by Alexander Scriabin. The most popular of these is the Étude in C-sharp minor (Op. 2, no. 1), a technical étude written in 1887, when Scriabin was only fifteen. It was one of his earliest successes. The melody is poignant and heartfelt, showing many characteristics of Russian Gypsy music. Although it is a slow and somber piece, like many other études, it is considerably difficult to perfect. A standard performance takes about three minutes.

This sheet contains the following parts:

Sheet Title View score Download
3 Pieces, Op. 2 - 1. Etude in C sharp minor
3 Pieces, Op. 2 - 2. Prelude in B major
3 Pieces, Op. 2 - 3. Impromptu a la Mazur in C major

Alexander Scriabin

Alexander Nikolayevich Scriabin was a Russian composer and pianist who initially developed a lyrical and idiosyncratic tonal language inspired by the music ...