Julio Salvador Sagreras

Julio Salvador Sagreras Partitura

  • Nascermos: 22nd Novembro 1879
  • Morreu: 20th Julho 1942
  • Berço: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Julio Salvador Sagreras was an Argentine guitarist, pedagogue, and composer. His parents taught him music very early, and he took parts in concerts at age 6. When he was 12 he started studying piano and composition, quickly progressing and becoming a professor of guitar at the Fine Arts Academy. In Buenos Aires he met Francisco Nuñez, who would later publish more than a hundred of his works. In 1905 he opened his own school. Sagreras is also known for his methodical and well-annotated guitar instruction series. It consists of seven books that take the student from the beginner to the advanced stage. The series is so well thought out and so incrementally progressive that it has often been said that the student can teach himself. In addition to these, other famous works for guitar include Maria Luisa (a mazurka), El Zorzal (Estilo), Violetas (Waltz), and the virtuosic El Colibri.