Maurice Ravel

Maurice Ravel Music Recordings

  • Born
    7th March 1875
  • Died
    28th December 1937
  • Birthplace
    Ciboure, France

Joseph-Maurice Ravel was a French composer known especially for his melodies, orchestral and instrumental textures and effects. Much of his piano music, chamber music, vocal music and orchestral music has entered the standard concert repertoire. Ravel's piano compositions, such as Jeux d'eau, Miroirs, Le tombeau de Couperin and Gaspard de la nuit, demand considerable virtuosity from the performer, and his orchestral music, including Daphnis et Chloé and his arrangement of Modest Mussorgsky's Pictures at an Exhibition, uses a variety of sound and instrumentation.

Title Form Instrument Ratings
Piano Concerto for the Left Hand Concerto Piano and orchestra
Piano Concerto in G Concerto Piano
Menuet antique Minuet Piano
Menuet sur le nom de Haydn Minuet Piano
Pavane for a Dead Princess Pavane Piano
Gaspard de la nuit Piano piece Piano
Jeux d'eau Piano piece Piano
Le tombeau de Couperin Piano piece Piano
Le tombeau de Couperin - Toccata Piano piece Piano
Miroirs Piano piece Piano
String Quartet in F major Quartet String Quartet
Rapsodie espagnole Rhapsody Orchestra
Sonatine Sonatina Piano
Daphnis et Chloé - Suite no. 2 Suite Orchestra
Ma mère l'oye Suite Piano
Miroirs Suite Piano
Piano Trio Trio Chamber group
Valses nobles et sentimentales Waltz Piano