Johannes Brahms

Johannes Brahms Music Recordings

  • Born
    7th May 1833
  • Died
    3rd April 1897
  • Birthplace
    Hamburg, Germany

Johannes Brahms was a German composer and pianist, and one of the leading musicians of the Romantic period. Born in Hamburg, Brahms spent much of his professional life in Vienna, Austria, where he was a leader of the musical scene. In his lifetime, Brahms' popularity and influence were considerable; following a comment by the nineteenth-century conductor Hans von Bülow, he is sometimes grouped with Johann Sebastian Bach and Ludwig van Beethoven as one of the Three Bs. Brahms composed for piano, chamber ensembles, symphony orchestra, and for voice and chorus. A virtuoso pianist, he premiered many of his own works; he also worked with some of the leading performers of his time, including the pianist Clara Schumann and the violinist Joseph Joachim.

Title Form Instrument Ratings
6 Piano Pieces, Op. 118 Piano piece Piano
7 Fantasien, Op. 116 Piano piece Piano
8 Piano Pieces, Op. 76 Piano piece Piano
Piano Quartet no. 1, Op. 25 Quartet Chamber group
Piano Quartet no. 2, Op. 26 Quartet Chamber group
Piano Quartet no. 3, Op. 60 Quartet Chamber group
String Quartet no. 3, Op. 67 Quartet String Quartet
String Quartet No.1, Op.51 No.1 Quartet String Quartet
String Quartet no.2, Op. 51 no.2 Quartet String Quartet
Clarinet Quintet, Op. 115 Quintet Chamber group
Piano Quintet in Fm, Op. 34 Quintet Chamber group
String Quintet no. 1, Op. 88 Quintet Chamber group
2 Rhapsodies, Op. 79 Rhapsody Piano
Scherzo, Op. 4 Scherzo Piano
Serenade no. 1 in D, Op. 11 Serenade / Divertimento / Cassation Orchestra
String Sextet no. 1, Op. 18 Sextet Chamber group
String Sextet no. 2 in G, Op. 36 Sextet Chamber group
Cello Sonata no. 1, Op. 38 Sonata Cello
Cello Sonata no. 2, Op. 99 Sonata Solo Instrument and Piano
Clarinet Sonata no. 1, Op. 120 no. 1 Sonata Clarinet