Johann Anton Filtz Music Recordings and Sheet Music

  • Born
    c. 22nd September 1733
  • Died
    c. 14th March 1760
  • Birthplace
    Eichstätt, Germany

Anton Fils (also Antonín Fils, Johann Anton Fils, Johann Anton Filtz) was a German classical composer. Fils was born in Eichstätt, in the Bishopric of Eichstätt. Long thought to have been of Bohemian origin (e.g., Racek 1956), despite having been described as "from Bavaria" by Friedrich Wilhelm Marpurgin 1756, his true origins were discovered in the 1960s (Wolf 2001). Fils studied law and theology at the University of Ingolstadt, and in 1754 became part of the "Mannheimer Hofkapelle" as a cellist. The Mannheim orchestra at the time was led by Johann Stamitz (Würtz & Wolf 2001). In 1757 Fils married Elizabeth Range, and in 1759 the couple bought a house. Even though he died at only age 26, he left an extensive body of work, including at least thirty-four symphonies and about thirty concertos, mainly for cello and for flute, though only about half have survived. Fils died in Mannheim. His music was mostly forgotten before being rediscovered in the 21st century.

Title Form Instrument Ratings
Flute Concerto in D major Concerto Solo Instrument(s) and Orchestra
Flute Concerto in G major Concerto Solo Instrument(s) and Orchestra
6 String Quartets Quartet String Quartet
Mass in C minor Sacred Mass Choir and Orchestra
Mass in E-flat major Sacred Mass Choir and Orchestra
3 Cello Sonatas, Op.5 Sonata Solo Instrument and Piano
6 Symphonies Symphony Orchestra
6 Symphonies, Op.1 Symphony String Orchestra
6 Symphonies, Op.2 Symphony Orchestra
6 Symphonies, Op.5 Symphony Orchestra
Symphony in E-flat major Symphony Orchestra
Symphony in F major Symphony Orchestra
6 Harpsichord Trios Trio Chamber group
6 Trios Trio Chamber group
6 Trios, Op.3 Trio Chamber group