Friedrich Kuhlau

Friedrich Kuhlau Music Recordings and Sheet Music

  • Born
    11th September 1786
  • Died
    12th March 1832
  • Birthplace
    Lüneburg in Uelzen district of Lower Saxon, Germany

Friedrich Daniel Rudolf Kuhlau was a German-born Danish composer during the Classical and Romantic periods. He was a central figure of the Danish Golden Age and is immortalized in Danish cultural history through his music for Elves' Hill, the first true work of Danish National Romanticism and a concealed tribute to the absolute monarchy. To this day it is his version of this melody which is the definitive arrangement.

Title Form Instrument Ratings
Die Feier des Wohlwollens, Op.36 Cantata Choir and Instrument
6 Canzoni, Op.9 Canzona Voice(s) and Piano
Concertino For 2 Horns and Orchestra, Op.45 Concerto Solo Instrument(s) and Orchestra
Piano Concerto, Op.7 Concerto Piano and orchestra
6 Scottish Dances, WoO 218 Dance Piano
3 Brilliant Duos for 2 Flutes, Op.81 Duet Chamber group
3 Brilliant Duos for 2 Flutes, Op.102 Duet Chamber group
3 Duets for 2 Flutes, Op.10 Duet Chamber group
3 Duos brillants, Op.110 Duet Solo Instrument and Piano
3 Duos for 2 Flutes, Op.80 Duet Chamber group
3 Grand Duets for 2 Flutes, Op.39 Duet Chamber group
3 Fantaisies for Solo Flute, Op. 38 Fantasy Flute
Fantaisie, Op.93 Fantasy Piano
Fantasy and Variations, Op.25 Fantasy Piano
Kronings Marsch March Wind Ensemble
Elisa, Op.29 Opera / Operetta Voice(s) and Orchestra
Eurydice in Tartarus, Op.47 Opera / Operetta Voice(s) and Orchestra
Røverborgen, WoO 129 Opera / Operetta Voice(s) and Orchestra
Trylleharpen, Op.27 Opera / Operetta Voice(s) and Orchestra
6 Favorite Themes from 'Der Freischütz', with Variations, Op.49 Piano piece Piano