Alexander Scriabin

Alexander Scriabin Music Recordings and Sheet Music

  • Born
    6th January 1872
  • Died
    27th April 1915
  • Birthplace
    Moscow, Russia

Alexander Nikolayevich Scriabin was a Russian composer and pianist who initially developed a lyrical and idiosyncratic tonal language inspired by the music of Frédéric Chopin. Quite independent of the innovations of Arnold Schoenberg, Scriabin developed an increasingly atonal musical system, accorded to mysticism, that presaged twelve-tone composition and other serial music. The first major example of this is the 5th piano sonata of 1907, although the process of innovation was somewhat gradual. He may be considered to be the main Russian Symbolist composer. Scriabin influenced composers like Roy Agnew, Sergei Prokofiev, Nikolai Roslavets and Igor Stravinsky, although Scriabin was reported to have disliked the music of both Prokofiev and Stravinsky.

Title Form Instrument Ratings
Canon in D minor Canon Piano
2 Danses, Op.73 Dance Piano
3 Etudes, Op.65 Etude Piano
8 Etudes, Op. 42 Etude Piano
12 Etudes, Op. 8 Etude Piano
Fantasie, Op.28 Fantasy Piano
Fugue Fugue Piano
2 Impromptus à la Mazur, Op.7 Impromptu Piano
2 Impromptus, Op.10 Impromptu Piano
2 Impromptus, Op.12 Impromptu Piano
2 Impromptus, Op.14 Impromptu Piano
2 Mazurkas, Op. 40 Mazurka Piano
9 Mazurkas, Op.25 Mazurka Piano
10 Mazurkas, Op.3 Mazurka Piano
Mazurka in B minor Mazurka Piano
Mazurka in F major Mazurka Piano
2 Nocturnes, Op.5 Nocturne Piano
Nocturne Nocturne Piano
2 Pieces, Op.57 Piano piece Piano
2 Pieces, Op.59 Piano piece Piano