Intermezzo from Carnival Scenes from Vienna, Op. 26

Faschingsschwank aus Wien (Carnival Scenes from Vienna or Carnival Jest from Vienna), Op. 26, is a solo piano work by Robert Schumann. He began composition of the work in 1839 in Vienna. He wrote the first four movements in Vienna, and the last on his return to Leipzig. The Intermezzo is marked by its flowing sound, created by a steady stream of right-hand notes in the background, interspersed with melody notes. The piece, almost entirely based on transpositions, appears difficult at first due to its speed. The background notes are mostly suited ... more

About this Piece

Radio App

Get the Radio App

Stream great classical music on the Web, Mobile or Apple TV

Download the App


RecordingIntermezzo - op. 26, no. 4


Intermezzo from Carnival Scenes from Vienna, Op. 26


There are no questions yet.