Mozart Flute Concerto in D major, K. 314/285d

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart wrote a concerto for oboe, K. 314, in 1777 for Giuseppe Ferlendis. This Flute concerto no. 2 in D is an adaptation of that original work: in 1778 Dutch flautist Ferdinand De Jean commissioned Mozart for four flute quartets and three flute concerti. Mozart only completed three quartets and only one new flute concerto, and instead of creating a new second concerto, he rearranged the oboe concerto he had written a year earlier as the second flute concerto. He introduced substantial changes to the work in order to make it appropriate for the flute. However, De Jean did not pay Mozart for this concerto on the grounds that it was based on the oboe concerto. The work remains a widely-studied piece for both instruments. The score calls for a standard set of orchestral strings, two oboes, and two horns in D/C. It is in three movements and lasts about 20 minutes.
Radio App
Get the Radio App

Stream great classical music on the Web, Mobile or Apple TV

Download the App


Gardner Chamber Orc. and P. Robison - Flute concerto 314


Flute Concerto in D major, K. 314/285d


There are no questions yet.