Ravel Ma mère l'oye

Ma mère l'oye (Mother Goose) is a work by Ravel, originally written as a piano duet for the Godebski children, Mimi and Jean, ages 6 and 7 (he had dedicated an earlier work, Sonatine, to their parents). The piece was transcribed for solo piano by Ravel's friend Jacques Charlot the same year as it was published (1910). Both piano versions bear the subtitle "cinq pièces enfantines" (five children's pieces). In 1911, Ravel orchestrated the work. Then, in 1912, he expanded it into a ballet, adding new movements ("Prélude" and "Danse du rouet et scène") and interludes.


Pavane de la belle au bois dormant
Petit poucet
Laideronnette, imperatrice des pagodes
Les entretiens de la Belle et de la Bete
Le jardin féerique


Ma mère l'oye
Ma mère l'oye
Ma mère l'oye
Ma mère l'oye
Ma mère l'oye