Schubert Piano Sonata no. 19 in C minor, D. 958

The Sonata for piano in C minor, D. 958 is part of the composer's last set of sonatas, written during the last months of his life, between the spring and autumn of 1828. The set was published ten years after his death, and mostly neglected during the 19th century. By the late 20th century, however, public and critical opinion had changed, and Schubert's last sonatas are now considered amongst the most important of the composer's mature masterpieces. They are part of the core piano repertoire, appearing regularly on concert programs and recordings. One of the reasons for the long period of neglect of Schubert's piano sonatas seems to be their dismissal as structurally and dramatically inferior to the sonatas of Beethoven. In fact, the last sonatas contain distinct allusions and similarities to works by Beethoven, a composer Schubert venerated. However, musicological analysis has shown that they maintain a mature, individual style. Schubert's last sonatas are now praised for their mature style, manifested in unique features such as a cyclical formal and tonal design, chamber music textures, and a rare depth of emotional expression.
Page # of #
Become a Patron!
Annunci pubblicitari

Spartiti Musicali


Sonata in C Minor, D. 958 - IV. Allegro
Sonata in C Minor, D. 958 - III. Menuetto Allegro
Sonata in C Minor, D. 958 - II. Adagio
Sonata in C Minor, D. 958 - I. Allegro



Music Licensing for a movie
  • 0 Risposte
  • 1 anni, 4 mesi fa