Schubert Piano Sonata no. 15 in C major, D. 840

Franz Schubert wrote his Piano sonata in C major, catalogued as D. 840, in 1825, while also working on the D. 845 sonata. The Piano sonata in C major was abandoned by the composer with the two first movements completed, the trio section of the third written in full, 270 bars of the fourth movement penned, and an incomplete minuet containing an unusual harmonic development, which researchers have taken to be the moment when Schubert became disillusioned and abandoned the movement and later the sonata. The fragments survided between Schubert's manuscripts, and they were published in 1861. Upon this publication, the work was nicknamed Reliquie, in the mistaken belief that it had been Schubert's last work. Due to the abundant material Schubert left, many composers and performers have undertaken the task of finishing it, with a considerable number of efforts appearing in record.
Page # of #
Become a Patron!
Annunci pubblicitari

Spartiti Musicali


I. Moderato
II. Andante
III. Menuetto trio I
III. Menuetto trio II
IV. Rondo



Non ci sono ancora Domande.